Redistricting – The U.S. House of Representatives

On July 29th The California Citizens Redistricting Commission took their first vote on the final maps for State Assembly, State Senate, Congressional and Board of Equalization district maps. Candidates running for U.S. Congress do not have the eligibility requirement of living in the legislative district that they will represent. Our current representative, John Garamendi, does not have a residence in the 10th Congressional District.

You’ll notice in the before and after pictures below that the district numbers are radically different. State law requires that after the lines have been drawn they must be renumbered starting in the north end of the state. The current batch of members of Congress representing the Bay Area will assess the new numbers and then determine which district they will run in. Jerry McNerney of the 11th plans to move to the San Joaquin Valley and run in the newly designated 9th district.

Bay Area Congressional Representatives

6th District: Marin County and Sonoma County – Congresswoman Lynn Woolsey
New 6th district – Sacramento

7th District: Richmond, San Pablo, Martinez, Benicia, Pittsburg, Concord – Congressman George Miller
New 7th district – Sacramento County, Rancho Cordova, Elk Grove, Citrus Heights

9th District: Albany, Berkeley, Emeryville, Oakland, Piedmont, Ashland, Castro Valley – Congresswoman Barbara Lee
New 9th district – Antioch, Oakley, Brentwood, Stockton

10th District: Parts of Solano, Contra Costa, Alameda, and Sacramento Counties – Congressman John Garamendi
New 10th district – Stanislaus County, Modesto

11th District: Danville, San Ramon, Dublin, Pleasanton, Brentwood – Congressman Jerry McNerney
New 11th district – Concord, Walnut Creek, Danville, Richmond

12th District: South San Francisco, San Mateo County – Congresswoman Jackie Speier
New 12th district – San Francisco

13th District: Alameda, San Leandro, Hayward, Union City, Fremont – Congressman Pete Stark
New 13th district – Oakland

14th District: Portions of San Mateo, Santa Clara and Santa Cruz Counties – Congresswoman Anna Eshoo
New 14th district – South San Francisco, San Mateo

15th District: Much of the central, northeastern and southwestern area of Santa Clara County – Congressman Mike Honda
New 15th district – Hayward, Pleasanton, Livermore

Current Congressional Districts

New Congressional Districts


About Kevin

Mayor - City of Oakley, Data Center Manager of Mainframe Operations and Optimization – USS-POSCO INDUSTRIES, Co-Founder and Board Member - Friends of Oakley A Community Foundation, Advisory Board – Opportunity Junction, Commissioner - Contra Costa Transportation Authority, Board Member - Tri Delta Transit and Transplan
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s