Monthly Archives: March 2015

Oakley Has Been Awarded a Priority Development Area Planning Grant of $100,000

    The City of Oakley has been awarded a Priority Development Area (PDA) Planning Grant of $100,000 through the Contra Costa Transportation Authority (CCTA). Oakley was one of ten jurisdictions to be awarded a grant. As part of its … Continue reading

Posted in City Info | Leave a comment

March 25, 2015 – National Medal of Honor Day

In 1990, Congress designated March 25th as National Medal of Honor Day, a day that is dedicated to all Medal of Honor recipients. The President, in the name of Congress, has awarded more than 3,400 Medals of Honor to our … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

First Day of Spring 2015: Vernal Equinox

The March equinox happens at the same moment across the world but is converted to local time. In 2015, it falls on March 20 at 6:45 P.M. EDT, 5:45 P.M. CDT, 4:45 P.M. MDT, and 3:45 P.M. PDT. Astronomically speaking, … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

California drought: State OKs sweeping restrictions on water use

From the San Francisco Chronicle By Kurtis Alexander Updated 9:00 pm, Tuesday, March 17, 2015 California officials approved a package of far-reaching water restrictions Tuesday, limiting homes and businesses in much of the Bay Area and elsewhere to just two … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Long-awaited Ferry Service to Richmond One Step Closer to Reality

At its March 5, 2015 Board meeting, the WETA Board of Directors approved a Cooperative Agreement with the Contra Costa Transportation Authority (CCTA) and the City of Richmond to provide operating subsidyfor proposed Richmond ferry service. The 10-year agreement will … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

These Are The 10 Most Dangerous Places In California

Posted by : Movoto.com  March 4, 2015 California is the Golden State, but the golden rule isn’t the norm in these 10 places. By Natalie Grigson. When most people think of California, crime is not one of the first things … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

The Medicine Cabinet Clean-Out Challenge

With Patient Safety Awareness Week around the corner (Mar. 8 – Mar. 14), we want to bring attention to a hidden safety hazard found in all of our own homes, our medicine cabinet. It’s so important that we understand the … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment